The (my) Kid is Alright Pt2 or Pedagogical Perspective from an 8yr old

Less of me, more of them.  A guest podcast by one of my favourite educational commentators, my son.

About ottawabrent

Principal of a Middle School in Ottawa, Ontario Canada
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The (my) Kid is Alright Pt2 or Pedagogical Perspective from an 8yr old

  1. Kristin Kopra says:

    Hey–I’m likin’ this more of him guy. Very interesting stuff. Hey more of him guy–I think you should ask your teacher if perhaps you could lead a science class or two. Design your next unit of study and present it to her/him. Spring is here–I’m thinkin’ outdoor classroom….there may be some dino bones to be found in your school yard….

  2. Shannon Smih says:

    Well, of course I just love this. What a kid 🙂

  3. Erin Paynter says:

    Awesome! I think there’s a bright future for this guy, whether it’s paleontology, or even teaching! Maybe teaching paleontology… And I totally agree – it’s way more fun to do the stuff then to hear someone talk about the stuff! Great work!

  4. Cheryl Arnett says:

    Great comments and observations! This was delightful and motivating! Thank you for sharing your incredible words of wisdom!

  5. Maureen Parker says:

    Wisdom of the ages! Thanks for sharing student voice with us. Wow, he’s hit the hot button points, hasn’t he:
    – hands-on learning
    – choice as a motivator
    – access to learning supports/resources including and beyond the teacher
    – engagement
    – real world connections
    – imagination and possibility
    Everything we do as educators should retain the hope in learning. Thank you for the powerful perspective.

  6. ottawabrent says:

    Thanks for the comment, Maureen! I agree, his comments are dead on. Its hard to imagine a place for worksheets and rote learning when the kids want more.

    • Maureen says:

      Every time I have chatted with, conferenced with or interviewed students (or had the privilege of reading their writing), I have been humbled by the insights. This is a terrific example. Hear, hear on the call to shift pedagogy to support these learners!

Leave a Reply

